Ngati Tama O Taranaki -
1830 – 1840 By the 1830s Ngati Tama had established settlements in at least four regions – Taranaki, Poneke, Te Tau Ihu o te waka a Maui and Wharekauri.
1860s Following the refusal by Wiremu Kingi Rangitake to sell the Pekapeka lands to the Crown, the Crown declared a state of martial law in Taranaki. The Crown built two military redoubts on Ngati Tama ancestral land during these campaigns at Pukearuhe and Wai-iti. Both were built on wahi tapu. 

Soldiers playing cricket at Pukearuhe Redoubt (Pa)
Soldiers playing cricket at Pukearuhe Redoubt (Pa)
1865 Unable to acquire the land by force, the Crown took it by legislation. The confiscation of 27,400 hectares of land in Ngati Tama rohe was taken both from people who had fought against the Crown, and those who had not.
1866 Compensation Courts were set up to identify "non-rebels", and to make awards of land to them.
1882 The West Coast Commission recommended the return of asmall amount of land to Ngati Tama, but by this time, the Crown had awarded almost all of the productive land in Ngati Tama rohe to military settlers. Ngati Tama were left with insufficient agricultural land for their needs.When Ngati Tama supported the Parihaka campaign of peaceful resistance, they also suffered at the hand of the Crown. 
1882, the Native Land Court ruled against Ngati Tama in favour of Ngati Maniapoto on two large land blocks north of the confiscation line.
1927 A Royal Commission of Inquiry was established to assess whether the confiscation of lands in 1865 was excessive. The Commission found that Taranaki Maori "ought not to have been punished by confiscation of any of the lands". 
1944 The Crown passed the Taranaki Lands Claim Settlement Act  
1955 without consultation with iwi, an annual payment to the Taranaki Maori Trust Board of five thousand pounds was granted, and purported to settle land claims in Taranaki forever.
Website Builder provided by  Vistaprint